Ankit Bawne’s 183 takes Maharashtra to QFs


[File Photo] Maharashtra's Rahul Tripathi followed his century with a 73-ball 61

[File Photo] Maharashtra’s Rahul Tripathi followed his century with a 73-ball 61 © BCCI

Top Knocks

Ankit Bawne followed his 95 against Mizoram with a stunning, unbeaten 184 versus Puducherry as his side posted a mammoth 379/7 in 50 overs. Azim Kazi, another impressive performer from Maharashtra’s previous fixture, got 88 off 57. Rahul Tripathi too showed great consistency as he followed his century with a 73-ball 61. In reply, Puducherry fell short by 105 runs despite a century from Ankit Sharma. This win confirmed Maharashtra’s passage through to the quarters.

Saurabh Tiwary’s unbeaten 138 off 131 – including 12 fours and 3 sixes, and Kumar Kushagra’s half-century went in vain as Jharkhand fell agonisingly short in chase against Vidarbha. Faiz Fazal’s 120 and key contributions from Ganesh Satish and Apoorv Wankhede pushed Vidarbha to 297 for 3. Akshay Karnewar and Umesh Yadav picked two wickets each and Jharkhand tripped up in the end, losing by 9 runs. The defeat meant they squandered the chance to reach the preliminary quarter final as the second-placed side in Elite Group B.

Sarfaraz Khan’s 94-ball 117, Ajinkya Rahane’s 82-ball 88, Prithvi Shaw’s fifty and Shams Mulani’s unbeaten 46 off 31 powered Mumbai to a scintillating chase after Railways posted 337 for 5, courtesy a century from Pratham Singh and 92 off 77 from Mohammed Saif. With this five-wicket victory, achieved with 9 balls to spare, Mumbai usurped Bengal to the second spot on Elite Group E on the basis of a superior NRR.

Jammu & Kashmir opener Vivrant Sharma hit an unbeaten 154 off 124 balls, including 18 fours and 6 sixes, as his side secured a nine-wicket win in the chase against Uttarakhand. Priyanshu Khanduri’s 97 and fifties from Swapnil Singh and Dikshanshu Negi pushed Uttarakhand to 251 for 6 in 50 overs but J&K openers made short work of the target with a 182-run first-wicket partnership.

In the incredibly close Elite Group A, Uttar Pradesh prevailed in a close finish against table-toppers Saurashtra to seal the second spot ahead of the two chasing sides – Hyderabad and Chandigarh. In an incredible finish, all four teams got 20 points each and were separated only by NRR. Such were the fine margins that Hyderabad – despite their 110-run win over Chandigarh – missed out because their NRR was +0.513 – just about inferior to UP’s, who ended with +0.604. That came courtesy a fighting 109-ball 89 from Akshdeep Nath in chase. He and Saurabh Kumar picked up the chase of Saurashtra’s 218 for 9 from 64 for 5 with a 147-run partnership. It revived the chase in dramatic fashion and they eked out a two-wicket win.

Top spells

Avesh Khan burned through Baroda’s batting line-up with a fine six-wicket haul in Madhya Pradesh’s massive 290-run victory. After four batters hit half-centuries to help MP post 349 for 7, Avesh took centre stage and finished with figures of 6 for 37. Baroda folded for just 59 runs in chase, with not even a single batter making it to the double-digits. Despite this victory, MP missed out on qualification to the prelim quarters as they finished four points short of second-placed J&K in Elite Group D.

Jharkhand’s loss was Assam’s gain as a solid bowling performance earned them a memorable victory against Delhi that guaranteed them a second-place finish, and entry into the preliminary quarterfinals. Assam didn’t always have a grip over the proceedings as they folded for 250 despite Rishav Das scoring an undefeated 93. Pradeep Sangwan was on the money for Delhi with figures of 2 for 45 while Nitish Rana ended with 3 for 33. Delhi however, crumbled with the bat as the Assam bowlers joined forces to make a match out of a slightly underwhelming total. Mukhtar Hussain, Sunil Lachit, Rajjakuddin Ahmed and Riyan Parag picked two wickets each to bundle out Delhi for 225, despite Himmat Singh’s best efforts (84 off 104).

Karnataka moved to the quarterfinals on the basis of a strong bowling show after the batters crumbled in the final league game, against Rajasthan. Aniket Choudhary and Sahil Dhiwan picked three wickets each to bundle out Karnataka for just 208. Nikin Jose and Shreyas Gopal put up fighting fifties but at the halfway stage it appeared insufficient. However, Karnataka’s bowling quartet of Vidhwath Kaverappa (2 for 17), Vasuki Koushik (2 for 23), Ronit More (3 for 35) and Krishnappa Gowtham (3 for 36) helped bowl out Rajasthan for just 148.

Chhattisgarh’s Sumit Ruikar crushed Andhra Pradesh’s dreams of making it to the preliminary quarterfinals as he ran through their middle-order in a spell of 4 for 23 in 10 overs. The offspinner was well supported by leggie Shubham Agarwal, who picked three wickets. Andhra collapsed spectacularly after an opening stand of 43, falling to 92 for 8. Nitish Reddy revived the innings with a 54-ball 50 but he could only push the team as far as 144. Chattisgarh chased that down in the 27th over, with captain Harpreet Singh Bhatia top-scoring (65* off 54).

Fast bowler Manisankar Murasingh picked a five-wicket haul as Manipur finished their Vijay Hazare campaign with seven defeats. Bikramkumar Das’s century and half-centuries from Sudip Chatterjee and Deepak Khatri powered Tripura to 346 for 6. Manipur struggled in chase and were bundled out for just 106. Left-arm spinner Chiranjit Paul sped up their collapse with a three-wicket haul to support Murasingh’s fiery performance

© Cricbuzz


Source link

Leave a Reply