Boult joins MI team in UAE T20 League ILT20 | – Cricbuzz – Cricbuzz


Trent Boult has joined the Mumbai Indians team in the UAE League. The New Zealand pacer, who surrendered his central contract with the NZC recently, has become one of the signees for the MI Emirates team in the ILT20. He is one of the 14 players signed by the franchise.

Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo and Nicholas Pooran are among the 14 allowed by the organisers to directly acquire for the inaugural edition of the league which will take place in January-February.

“We are glad to have one of our key pillars, Kieron Pollard, continue with MI Emirates. Joining us back are Dwayne Bravo, Trent Boult, and Nicholas Pooran. A very warm welcome to all players of MI Emirates,” Akash Ambani, chairman of Reliance Jio, said in a statement on Friday (August 12).

Boult’s decision to pull out of the national contract has become an international headline but the move was largely expected among the IPL and the franchise circles of the other leagues. While giving up the contract, the New Zealander said he is prioritizing his family and kids over his international commitments and hinted at participating in the T20 leagues world over.

Another surprise inclusion in the list is Imran Tahir, a South African of Pakistan origin, who has chosen to play in the UAE league instead of the CSA league which will be held alongside the UAE league. Tahir (43) has played 20 Tests, 107 ODIs and 38 T20Is for South Africa.

Each team is allowed to sign 12 internationals and two Associate players with the 18-member permitted squad completed by four UAE players. There will be an auction for the UAE players after the Twenty20 World Cup. The deadline for the signings ended recently.

The 14 players who have been signed are: Kieron Pollard (West Indies), Dwayne Bravo (West Indies), Nicholas Pooran (West Indies), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Andre Fletcher (West Indies), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Samit Patel (England), Will Smeed (England), Jordan Thompson (England), Najibullah Zadran (Afghanistan), Zahir Khan (Afghanistan), Fazalhaq Farooqui (Afghanistan), Bradley Wheal (Scotland) and Bas De Leede (Netherlands).

Leave a Reply