Unmukt Chand roped in by Chattogram Challengers in BPL draft


Unmukt Chand will become the first Indian to feature in the Bangladesh Premier League

Unmukt Chand will become the first Indian to feature in the Bangladesh Premier League © Getty

Unmukt Chand, the 2012 Under-19 World Cup-winning captain of India, will become the first Indian to feature in the Bangladesh Premier League as Chattogram Challengers picked him up in the players’ draft held on Wednesday (November 23).

Cricbuzz earlier reported that Chand had registered his name for the BPL draft. BCCI contracted cricketers are not allowed to play in foreign leagues but Chand quit playing domestic cricket in India after signing a three-year deal with USA’s Major League Cricket (MLC) in 2022.

Challengers picked Chand in the second round from the foreign players’ category for the upcoming edition of the BPL which is scheduled to begin from January 6.

“We have picked him( Chand) as we wanted to have an Indian in our squad plus we can also have a fan base in India,” Challengers owner Rifatuzzaman told the media after the draft.

Comilla Victorians, the 2019-2020 champions, who had the first pick in the draft, opted for the in-form Litton Das, having earlier roped in Mustafizur Rahman as their direct signing.

“Yes, he (Liton) played for us and but we have picked Mustafizur (as direct signing) as we wanted to make sure that our bowling strength is not compromised. In that sense you can say we are lucky to have the first call and get Litton,” Victorians head coach Mohammad Salahuddin told Cricbuzz during a break in between the draft.

Fortune Barishal bagged Mahmudullah and Shakib Al Hasan (direct signing) while Mushfiqur Rahim and Mashrafe Mortaza (direct signing) went to Sylhet Strikers. Mominul Haque remained unsold in the players’ draft.

After lot of drama the Bangladesh Cricket Board eventually managed a franchise for Dhaka as Rupa Fabrics bagged the franchise rights, although they made the payment after the stipulated time-frame. They roped in Taskin Ahmed and Soumya Sarkar among their picks.

Meanwhile, Dhaka Dominators’ manager Sikdar Abul Hashem confirmed to Cricbuzz that they have roped in legendary Sri Lankan pace bowler Chaminda Vaas as their head coach for the upcoming edition of BPL. “Yes, we have appointed Vaas as our head coach,” Hashem said. adding that they are expecting him to arrive before the start of the season.

BPL 2023 squads (after draft)

Dhaka Dominators: Taskin Ahmed (local direct), Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Munaweera (foreign direct), Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarkar, Shoriful Islam, Arafat Sunny, Nasir Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain, Alok Kapali, Monir Hossain Khan, Ariful Haque, Muktar Ali, Mizanur Rahman, Delwar Hossain, Shaan Masood, Ahmad Shahzad, Usman Gani and Salman Irshad (from draft).

Chattogram Challengers: Afif Hossain (local direct), Vishwa Fernando, Ashan Priyanjan, Curtis Campher (foreign direct), Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Shuvagata Hom, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Irfan Shukkur, Mehedi Maruf, Ziaur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed, Farhad Reza, Towfiq Khan Tusher, Maxwell Patrick O’Dowd and Unmukt Chand (from draft).

Fortune Barishal: Shakib Al Hasan (local direct), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Wasim, Ibrahim Jadran, Karim Janat, Usman Qadir, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kesrick Williams, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Naveen-Ul-Haq, Kusal Perera (foreign direct), Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Fazle Mahmud, Khaled Ahmed, Saif Hassan, Kazi Onik, Sunjamul Islam, Salman Hossain, Hayder Ali and Chaturanga de Silva (from draft).

Khulna Tigers: Tamim Iqbal (local direct), Avishka Fernando, Wahab Riaz, Naseem Shah, Azam Khan (foreign direct), Mohammad Saifuddin, Yasir Ali, Nasum Ahmed, Nahidul Islam, Munim Shahriar, Sabbir Rahman, Shafiqul Islam, Pritom Kumar, Habibur Rahman Sohan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Dashun Shanaka and Paul van Meekeren (from draft).

Sylhet Strikers: Mashrafe bin Mortaza (local direct), Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Haris, Ryan Burl, Kamindu Mendis, Thisara Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva, Colin Ackermann (foreign direct), Mushfiqur Rahim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Nabil Samad, Towhid Hridoy, Rubel Hossain, Zakir Hasan, Nazmul Islam Apu, Akbar Ali, Mohammad Sharifullah, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Tom Moores and Gulbadin Naib (from draft).

Comilla Victorians: Mustafizur Rahman (local direct), Mohammad Rizwan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Hasan Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nabi, Abrar Ahmed, Josh Cobb, Brandon King (foreign direct), Liton Das, Mosaddek Hossain, Tanvir Islam, Imrul Kayes, Ashiqur Zaman, Jaker Ali Anik, Sykat Ali, Abu Haider Rony, Nayeem Hasan, Mukidul Islam Mughdho, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Sean Williams and Chadwick Walton (from draft).

Rangpur Riders: Nurul Hasan Sohan (local direct), Shoaib Malik, Pathum Nissanka, Haris Rouf, Mohammad Nawaz, Jeffrey Vandersay, Sikandar Raza (foreign direct), Mahedi Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Mohammad Naim, Rakibul Hasan Jr, Shamim Hossain, Ripon Mondol, Rony Talukder, Pervez Hossain Emon, Robiul Haque, Alauddin Babu, Azmatullah Omarzai and Aron Jones (from draft).

© Cricbuzz

Source link

Leave a Reply