After going to Status, you will see the option of My Contacts, My Contacts Except and Only Share With. If you want to hide only a special or selected people, then you have to click on My Contacts Except. In this, those contacts will not see this status again, which you do not want to show.
If you want to set status for any particular then you will have option of Share With Only. After clicking on this option, your entire Contact List will open. Here any contact you select will see your status. Apart from this, no one is going to see your status. My Contacts means that your status will be visible to all the contacts.
These options are given for Android users. If an Android user wants to hide, then after going to the app, he has to go to the top three dots. In this, after going to Settings, you have to go to Privacy and make this setting.